International secondment

International secondment: treaty countries

Apart from the member states of the EU and the EEA, the Netherlands has social security agreements governing applicable social insurance legislation with the following countries, which we refer to as 'treaty countries':

  • Australia
  • Bosnia Herzegovina
  • Canada (including Quebec)
  • China
  • Chile
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Israel (not the Gaza Strip, the West Bank, East Jerusalem or the Golan Heights)
  • Japan
  • Cape Verde
  • Channel Islands (Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, Herm, Jethou)
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia
  • Isle of Man
  • Morocco
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Serbia
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uruguay
  • United States of America
  • South Korea

The SVB determines the territorial scope of bilateral agreements on the basis of internationally recognised borders.